April Wrap Up

I read ten books this month which is pretty good for me considering I’ve been in a bad reading slump the last few months. I feel like next month won’t be as good because I have exams the next two weeks.

Image result for the darkest minds by alexandra bracken

The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken

My rating: ★★★★☆

Took me a little bit of time to get into this but I ended up loving it and I’m so attached to all of the characters.

Here is the link for my full review: https://bookwonderlandweb.wordpress.com/2017/04/10/the-darkest-minds-by-alexandra-bracken/

Image result for fairest of all valentino

Fairest of All by Serena Valentino

My rating: ★★★★☆

This was a super quick read that I decided to pick up after Darkest Minds so I wouldn’t  be in a slump. I ended up really enjoying this because it was very similar to the original story and I appreciated the dark aspects of it.

Image result for dark places book

Dark Places by Gillian Flynn

My rating: ★★★★☆

This is the first Gillian Flynn book I have ever read and I enjoyed it! The beginning was really great but I felt like I lost a bit interest towards the end.

 

Image result for an elegy for september

An Elegy for September by John Nicholas

My rating: ★★☆☆☆

I don’t really have much to say about this one. I picked it up at a used book store and didn’t know anything about it going into it. I feel like the story was all over the place and at times it got annoying to keep track on what the narrator was talking about. This was pretty a book about the his love life with random nature scenes thrown into it.

Image result for all the bright places

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

My rating: ★★★★☆

This book really threw me into a whirlwind of emotions. Overall it is a beautiful book that teaches so many valuable lessons. Also, there is a movie coming out next year!

Check out my full review: https://bookwonderlandweb.wordpress.com/2017/04/12/all-the-bright-places-by-jennifer-niven/

Image result for never fade alexandra bracken

Never Fade by Alexandra Bracken

My rating: Image result for 4.5 stars

Once again a bit slow at the beginning but had so much action that it hurt me to take off half a star.

Check out my full review here https://bookwonderlandweb.wordpress.com/2017/04/15/never-fade-by-alexandra-bracken/

Image result for the beast within book

The Beast Within by Serena Valentino

My rating: ★★★★☆

Really fun sequel to the series even though I think I preferred the first book a bit more. I might do a review for all three books in the series once I am finished so keep and eye out for that!

Image result for that summer by sarah dessen

That Summer by Sarah Dessen

My rating: Image result for 3.5 stars

This is Sarah Dessen’s first novel and I plan on reading all of her works in publication order. I couldn’t be more excited to continue to her next book.

Check out my full review!! https://bookwonderlandweb.wordpress.com/2017/04/23/that-summer-by-sarah-dessen/

Image result for the summer i turned pretty

The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han

My rating: ★★★★☆

This is the first ever audiobook I ever listened too! The narrator was a bit irritating but i overall enjoyed this book. I will mostly likely post a full review on this as well!

Image result for secret vampire night world

Secret Vampire by L.J. Smith

My rating: ★★★★☆

This is the first book in the Night World series and I absolutely loved it. It is a quick read that consists of all things supernatural from vampires and werewolves to witches and psychics. It also has tons of contemporary notes in it that make it even better. I am reading the second book in this series now, let me know if you want full reviews on any of them!

What are some of your favorite books you read in April?

Thanks for reading! -Catherine 🙂

16 thoughts on “April Wrap Up

  1. I’ve read ‘The Darkest Minds’ and really liked it, been hoping to continue the series but it’s just that there is a certain Pet Peeve of mine (the “I am a monster” – said by someone only because of their power, instead of, you know, who they are) in the book, which I heard only gets worse… But now I reeally want to continue. Will you be reading the third book soon? Would love to read your review of it!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I see where you’re coming from but I feel like it’s totally understandable for Ruby because there are times when she can’t control herself and her powers. I want to read the third book asap, I’m just wrapping up two shorter books and I am kind of getting into a slump and have exams coming up so maybe after all that I’ll pick it up and for sure do a review!

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Wow, it looks like you had a great reading month! I’m interested in The Darkest Minds and Never Fade, All the Bright Places, That Summer and The Summer I Turned Pretty. My favourite books I read in April were ACOTAR and ACOMAF, I reread them in anticipation for ACOWAR! I hope May is an equally as good reading month for you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow! You had a really productive April, Catherine! Great work. I completely understand the emotional roller coaster of All The Bright Places. I am still in a bit of awe from reading that book. I don’t know if I agree with it all ,but it really strongly affected me.

    My favorite reads in April were Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier and Six of Crows/Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo. Very different books, and all absolutely awesome1

    Like

Leave a Reply

