That Summer by Sarah Dessen

Image result for that summer by sarah dessen

Image result for 3.5 stars

For fifteen-year-old Haven, life is changing too quickly. She’s nearly six feet tall, her father is getting remarried, and her sister—the always perfect Ashley—is planning a wedding of her own. Haven wishes things could just go back to the way they were. Then an old boyfriend of Ashley’s reenters the picture, and through him, Haven sees the past for what it really was, and comes to grips with the future.

I picked up this book while reading The Darkest Minds series in order to prevent a book slump and give my mind a break from fantasy. Surprisingly enough I have never read anything by Sarah Dessen before this book. I’ve been hearing all of the hype behind her newest release and I thought what better way to get into Dessen’s world than reading every single one of her books in publication order; that is exactly what I plan to do.

I’m a huge sucker for contemporary books especially once the warmer weather starts coming around. Although this wasn’t the best read it was still a fun one that I was able to speed right through. The first three quarters of the novel were rather slow with no big events occurring the entire time which is why I took off 1.5 stars. It felt rather redundant and nothing exciting occurred.

Once the last quarter came into play it was like the entire book crossed a threshold into a much deeper feel that contained a lot more meaning. The novel does a great job in expressing how important it is do not dwell on frustrating or melancholy situations and rather enjoy the good times and move on to let yourself live. There is also a great amount of stress on the relationship between sisters which really warmed my heart.

Overall this was a quick and entertaining and I can’t wait to get deeper into Dessen’s writing.

Have you read this book or anything else by Sarah Dessen? If you have read this book, what is your opinion on Gwendolyn’s role in the book?

Thanks for reading! -Catherine 🙂

 

6 thoughts on “That Summer by Sarah Dessen

      1. I loved it! I’ve watched it countless times! Now I’ve outgrown it but I still have it on my hands, there’s specially a very simple scene with a specific song that always brings a smile to my face! It’s called “How to deal” but it’s a mix between That Sumer & Someone Like You, so I’d recommend you to read the other one (if you haven’t yet) before watching it! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

