All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Image result for all the bright places

My rating: ★★★★☆

Spoiler Free  Goodreads Summary: Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him. Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death. When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink

My Thoughts: Okay let me start off by saying that this book surprised me big time. I didn’t know much about it and was just expecting a nice and sweet contemporary…Anyone who has read this knows that this book is not just a love story. This novel had such an impact on me and wrecked with my emotions.

I adored Violet’s and Finch’s relationship. They worked together so and I really appreciated how it still ended up being believable instead of making what they had something out of this world. On the other hand, I would have liked to see more of Violet’s thoughts on Finch in the beginning because I feel it was too much of “love at first sight” and it would have been nice to see a little bit of a resistance rather than Violet just letting Finch hold her hand straight off the bat. Other than that I really loved them together, especially the way Finch exposed her to all of the horrors in the world that she has ignored since Eleanor’s death which prepared her for living life on her own after high school and going back to writing which is something she seems to be very passionate about.

Spoilers Here (scroll to next paragraph if you haven’t read the novel): The ending came extremely unexpected to me. Even though it was obvious Finch was having some serious mental issues I never expected them to escalate so quickly. On his own he became a totally different person rather than when he was with Violet which seems to lead to her shock as well. I no joke was expecting Violet to actually find him well and alive at the end and this whole thing was his vanishing act but I secretly knew that wasn’t true and just didn’t want to release the true emotions that I was feeling about him being gone. I also find it incredible in how much he really changed Violet’s life in a positive way while going through everything he had going on. Violet learned how to live her life again instead of just avoided all her problems and getting her way out of almost everything due to the loss of her sister. Although she lost two very important people in her life, she had something Finch felt her never had which is time and time really does heal all.

Wrap Up (Spoiler Free): Overall I think this is a beautiful book that everyone should read. This novel has such a beautiful love story that has some roots to Romeo and Juliet. Putting the relationship aside, this novel teaches many valuable lessons in regards to suicide awareness, mental disorders, grief, loss, and suffering. The book by no means gives false hope in portraying loss as something that is easy to get over. There is no hiding that its gonna suck and hurt at first but it does get better if you surround yourself with the right people and just give it time.

Also, there is a movie coming out next year!!! Make sure you read the book before then and let me know what you thought!

Happy reading!- Catherine 🙂

2 thoughts on “All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

  1. Great review, even though I skipped the spoiler part because I haven’t read the book yet but it is standing on my bookself and waiting for me. I really like your blog, especially the simplicity of it, things are in fine order and easy to find. I didn’t get to read any other posts now because I’m about to go to sleep but first thing in the morning I will go through some of your post because I really wanna read more of them. (:

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

