Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

18692431.jpg

My Rating: ★★★☆☆

Everything Everything is a novel about Madeline Whittier, a young girl who has SCID (Severe Combined Immunodeficiency). Her diagnosis is being allergic to the world which restricts her from leaving her home and living a normal, teenage-girl life. Maddy’s life consists of a lot of reading (same here except I have no excuse), online school, and an abundance of mother-daughter time. One day a boy names Olly moves in next door and his mysterious look and fun personality attracts her attention. After constantly watching him through her window they begin to communicate through means of IMing and window notes. After Olly visits her in her home, Maddy finds herself falling for this boy. She knows that being in love is not a logical option for her due to her restrictive lifestyle, but she finds it near impossible to remove Olly from her life.

Overall, Everything Everything is a good book. It was a quick and easy read that didn’t call for much thinking. Maddy and Olly’s relationship is one of my favorite parts of this book. Maddy has never had a relationship with someone her age which makes everything new and foreign to her. This causes the relationship to be very sweet and innocent. I found myself smiling on numerous occasions because of how adorable Olly and Maddy are.

Besides the relationship, I didn’t really enjoy a lot of this novel. I feel like nothing necessarily special was in its content. The book lacked depth in many circumstances, a main one being Maddy’s disease. I would have really loved to hear more about her SCID since I don’t have extended knowledge on it. Besides being rare and causing near death experiences, I learned nothing about SCID. The addition of this aspect would make the story much more intellectual and not just another YA romance.

Despite my opinion, I believe you should definitely read this book and gather your own opinion on it. Although I can’t necessarily say so, many people are over the moon in love with this book. If you have read it or are planing to do so, let me know! I’d love to hear everyone else’s opinion.

Thanks for reading! -Catherine 🙂

6 thoughts on “Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

  1. Great review. I’m still not sure whether or not I want to read this book. This genre isn’t really one I like reading, but it sounds pretty interesting. Is the conclusion of the book predictable? I feel like that would be the deciding point for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I would say it is quite predictable on the relationship aspect but I wasn’t expecting some of the other turn outs until the last quarter of the book. I would say give it a go, you may not like it but it’s a quick read so you might as well. I finished it in one day so it shouldn’t be much of a bother.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

