The One by Kiera Cass

15844362

The One by Kiera Cass is the third book in The Selection series and wraps up the story told by America. The novel has such an amazing start. I found myself laughing out loud on the plane at America’s attempt to be seductive towards Maxon. The story circled around the rebels and what exactly their plans are and why they do what they do. America and Maxon go as far as leaving the castle to meet up with August and Georgia in order to get insider information. The southern rebels have taken things to a new level and are killing people by cast in relation to the castes of the remaining girls in the selection. Maxon and America find their relationship building back up due to this new found connection. However, America’s constant misbehavior in the castle could mean cost her the chance to be with Maxon due to the king’s dislike of America.

I give this book a 5/5 stars.

We learn so many new things about each of the characters in this book. We get an inside scoop on how each of the girls truly acts when placed in hard situations that they might not see acceptable. America’s bravery and loyalty shines through every time and I found myself rooting for her more than ever before.

Maxon’s love and compassion for America is so noticeable throughout the book. He risks his life numerous times just to make sure she is safe. Their relationship is filled with arguments and rough patches which makes me love it even more. Even when they are arguing, the two manage to stay connected and never lose touch of one another.

I really can’t put into words how much I love this book. From the relationships to love to war and conflict I found myself not able to put it down. I read through this book in one day and it hurts to only give it 5/5 stars. This book deserves 5000 stars. The ending was so touching and suspenseful and I was filled with anxiety and stress for all the characters. This is the first book that has made me cry since the fifth book of Harry Potter which says a lot. I will read the rest of the series very soon but for now I need to let the amazingness of America and Maxon’s story sink in.

Thanks for reading!! -Catherine 🙂

4 thoughts on “The One by Kiera Cass

      1. To me at least, the characters seemed pretty two-dimensional in the first two books. In this one, they finally got some more depth. I think I might have enjoyed this more though if I had read it before reading 500 other dystopias as I would have been less critical of the genre, perhaps.

        Like

Leave a Reply

