Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel

book

Sleeping Giants starts off with a prologue where we learn about a young girl who was riding her new bike in the woods and soon finds herself miles below ground in a large hole. She is centered in a large hand that is emitting a strange turquoise light and is engraved with elaborate designs. Around here is a room with panels that have symbols that are unknown to any language on Earth. We then jump to an interview with Dr. Rose Franklin, the once young girl who fell into the hand, where we begin to learn about the experiments that are taking place in order to learn what exactly this ‘hand’ is and why it was suddenly activated. When more body parts from this giant begin to appear, an entire lab is built around this issue and the US army is set on a mission to retrieve these parts while Rose and her team begin to analyze. We soon meet Kara Resnik and Ryan Mitchell who are both pilots along with Alyssa Papantoniou, the geneticist, and Vincent Couture, the linguist. The team is attempting to understand what exactly this giant is and how it arrived on the planet. They know for sure that its technology is far superior to anything humans have access to today and goes beyond all the knowledge and intelligence that exists on the planet.

The story is told in a very interesting way, varying from chapter to chapter. For most of the novel we have an unknown superior figure interviewing each of the candidates in the experiment plus some other individuals. There are also chapters that are journal entries by the characters which allows us to understand exactly what they are going.

The book ranges from science, extraterrestrials, war, love, and drama. Personally, I enjoyed the beginning of he novel for it was more science based. I feel like the middle of the book was a bit dragged out with some chapters that lost my interest. The story ends with the sense that it is settled but then you read the epilogue and there you are, a giant cliff hanger……OF COURSE. This ending made me want to pull all my hair out so I started looking stuff up and the sequel doesn’t come out until APRIL 2017!!! I don’t think I can wait that long.

I really did enjoy the book and all of the characters. Having a unique way of telling the story allows you to learn about each character in great depth. Since the characters are speaking to an anonymous interviewer we are able to see how they feel about everyone else that they work with. This is where I grew to love Kara. She’s so fierce and sassy that it makes me so happy to hear all the things she has to say about everyone else.

I give this book a 4/5 stars.

If you are into the whole alien thing and don’t mind some love drama, then I for sure recommend this book to you. Let me just warn you- the ending is intense to the point where I don’t think I can wait until next year for the sequel. I guess we’ll just have to wait and see if I can survive that long. Wish me luck.

Thanks for reading! -Catherine 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

