The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

book

The Unexpected Everything takes place in Stanwich, Connecticut. Andie Walker, our main character, is the daughter of a politician better know as Alex Walker. Having your dad work in Congress means a lot of planning and organization and it also means that you must act a certain way. Having lived with just her father for five years, Andie has adapted to this life style and is used to being home by herself most of the time while making sure no bad publicity is published that could possibly hurt her father’s reputation. Although she has an amazing friend group- Palmer, Bri, and Toby- at home, she is enrolled in a pre med summer program at John Hopkins. However, in the beginning of the novel we learn that her father is the center of a scandal. This not only hurts his job but also causes Andie to lose her position in the summer program. She is now forced to stay home with her father whom she has has barely any communication with, and find a job. With all the good internships already taken, Andie picks up at job with the local dog walking service, which is quite an adventure when you don’t remember the last time you pet a dog. Throughout the book we follow Andie’s summer adventures with her group of friends plus the addition of a possible love interest, Clark.

This was the first Morgan Matson book that I’ve read. I went through the book relatively quick. It was a very easy read but a very fun one. I feel like I really got to know Andie and all of her friends. Throughout the book I got to understand each character and all of their relationships relative to the rest of the book. I also can’t complain with the dog walking aspect. Being a dog lover it was super entertaining to read about some cute dogs.

I found myself really into Andie and Clark’s relationship. Clark is a very awkward teenager to start with which I found totally adorable. Once they got to know each other better you could see each of the evolve into a new person. Andie, never being in a relationship longer than three weeks, learned how to open up to someone and truly love them. Clark became more social and finally found a group of people that accept him and where he fits in.

I would recommend this book to anyone looking for an easy and fun summer read. Its a book that has a cute story and really puts you in the summer mood. This book also helped me realize how lame my summer is and how boring the things I do with my friends actually are. I just ordered another one of Morgan’s books, Since You’ve Been Gone, and can’t wait to read it.

I give this book a 4/5 stars.

Now if you’d excuse me, I’m going to scout out a dog walking business and get a job. Thanks for reading! -Catherine 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

